Album Reviews Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Leonard's Lair - Bringing you weekly updated music reviews Bringing you weekly updated music reviews
Reviews     Best     Links     About
Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Music Reviews Indie Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
CD Reviews
Reviews of Music
Album Reviews
The Undertones Album Reviews 3out of 5
Album Reviews
True Confessions (Singles = A's + B's)

Album Reviews
In an age where punk music was designed to shock the system and to generally be as controversial as they damn well liked, The Undertones seemed at odds with this view given their penchant for child-like innocent songwriting. On a recent music show, The Undertones's lead singer, Feargal Sharkey, claimed that their first and probably their best hit, Teenage Kicks was basically about onanism but apart from this schoolboy crushes and teen angst were much more in evidence; 'Smarter Than U', 'She Can Only Say No' and 'Let's Talk About Girls' falling into the former category whilst the splendid 'My Perfect Cousin' and 'I Don't Wanna See You Again' make up the latter. As well as upbeat punk-pop numbers, The Undertones produced thoughtful melodic pop gems such as 'Wednesday Week' and 'It's Going To Happen'. Maturity took an even greater hold later in their career and a definite soul influence can clearly be heard on 'Got To Have You Back', 'The Love Parade' and 'Bye Bye Baby Blue' before they split in the mid-1980's; Sharkey choosing not to reform the band despite numerous offers. As a singles compilation it does exactly what it says on the tin and despite some duff tracks there are enough enjoyable moments from each stage of their career to savour.
Album Reviews
  CD1 Track Listing
Standout Track Teenage Kicks
02 True Confessions
03 Smarter Than U
04 Emergency Cases
05 Get Over You
06 Really Really
07 She Can Only Say No
08 Jimmy Jimmy
09 Mars Bars
10 Here Comes The Summer
11 One Way Love
12 Top Twenty
13 You've Got My Number (Why Don't You Use It!)
14 Let's Talk About Girls
15 My Perfect Cousin
16 Hard Luck
17 I Don't Wanna See You Again

Standout Track = Standout Track

  CD2 Track Listing
01 Wednesday Week
02 I Told You So
03 It's Going To Happen
04 Fairly In The Money Now
05 Julie Ocean
06 Kiss In The Dark
07 Beautiful Friend
08 Life's Too Easy
09 The Love Parade
10 Like That
11 Got To Have You Back
12 Turning Blue
13 Bye Bye Baby Blue
14 Chain Of Love
15 Window Shopping For New Clothes

Album Reviews
Album Reviews
Also Recommended:
That Petrol Emotion - Babble
Undertones, The - Hypnotised
Album Reviews
print this reviewprint this review Album Reviews print this reviewemail this review
Music Reviews CD Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
Alternative music reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Record Reviews Indie Reviews
go to the top of the page Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews