Album Reviews Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Leonard's Lair - Bringing you weekly updated music reviews Bringing you weekly updated music reviews
Reviews     Best     Links     About
Leonard's Lair Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Music Reviews Indie Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
CD Reviews
Reviews of Music
Album Reviews
Various Artists Album Reviews 3out of 5
Album Reviews
Chicago 2018... It's Gonna Change

Album Reviews
The premise behind this collection is certainly an interesting one. A German tourist visits Chicago to sample the sounds of the state; thankfully the results are largely fascinating. The 18 tracks can be divided into two categories: impressive post-rock and freeform jazz. The latter genre can't help but conjure up images of The Jazz Club from the BBC comedy series 'The Fast Show' but the pieces are too messy and overlong and would take a freeform jazz purist to really appreciate them; in short it's not nice. The rest of the double CD though features contribtions from members of Tortoise, Sam Prekop and other leading lights of the post-rock scene; the melodies take a while to enter the listener's consciousness but after a few airings it is clear that the likes of Jim O'Rourke's 'Never Again', Bobby Conn's 'The Whistler', Joshua Abrams' 'End Of June' and Pullman's 'Karissa' are insouciant, enchanting masterpieces which rise above the self-indulgence the Chicago scene is often accused of.
Album Reviews
  CD1 Track Listing
01 Bobby Conn - The Whistler
02 Sam Prekop - The Afternoon
Standout Track Jim O'Rourke - Never Again
04 Toe 2000 - Absolutism
05 Chicago Underground Duo - King Cobre
06 Slam! - 911
07 Pullman - Karissa
08 Bundy K. Brown - Imaging Place
09 Mick Turner - Sunny Xmas Day
10 Tricolor - Absolution

Standout Track = Standout Track

  CD2 Track Listing
01 Tortoise - Jetty 99
02 Freakwater - All Life Long Remix
03 Joshua Adams - End Of June
04 Eternals - Bewilderness
05 NRG Ensemble - Hold That Thought
06 Bobby Conn w/J. O'Rourke - California
07 Ken Vandermark - Distance
08 Isotope 217 - LUH

Album Reviews
Album Reviews
Also Recommended:
Jaga Jazzist - Magazine
O'Rourke, Jim - Bad Timing
Sea And The Cake, The - Oui
Slaraffenland - Jinkatawa
Tortoise - Millions Now Living Will Never Die, Standards, It's All Around You
Album Reviews
print this reviewprint this review Album Reviews print this reviewemail this review
Music Reviews CD Reviews
Alternative Reviews CD Reviews Album Reviews
Alternative music reviews Album Reviews CD Reviews Record Reviews Indie Reviews
go to the top of the page Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews
Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews Music Reviews